City Council

The municipal government of the City of Athens is known as the "Council-Manager Government". A five member council of city residents govern, with one City Manager as administrative head of the municipal government. Council members are elected for four-year terms, with elections staggered every two years. From their number, the council members elect a mayor for two year terms, and the council also decides who serves as the city manager. Further details of the council duties and organization are found in the articles of the Charter for the City of Athens, Tennessee.

Visit these pages for more information about the current council: